Tags

, , ,

Image

 

 

I love patterns. I REALLY love free patterns. The above cowl was a project sheet I ripped off on a whim at Michael’s.  The “Knit it Tonight” cowl is worked in the round using double strands of yarn.  I love this pattern (although I most certainly did not knit it in one night) and thought I’d share.  The pattern is listed as intermediate, if you’ve never worked in the round this is a perfect project to start on because unlike a hat that you might work in the round there is no decreasing and working on double pointed needles. I personally love working in the round and avoiding any awkward seams. This pattern is straight forward knits and purls. The pattern does suggest working the two ends from one skein, this sounded like a potential knotting nightmare so instead I bought two skeins and made two cowls.  The first I gave as a gift to a friend recovering from shoulder surgery (this is a perfect gift for someone recovering from anything that impairs their mobility because you simply throw it on and go) and the second I kept for myself.  The finished product is warm and soft and I will definitely be revisiting it!

Also the above photo credit goes to my son and my iphone. The photo which underwent two different photo editing apps on my phone is all I will offer in the way of explanation of why I spend my time behind the camera instead of in front of it. I thank my friends for having such good looking children who are willing to model for us. (The apps I used in editing were PicBeauty to smooth and brighten and A Beautiful Mess to add text and borders)

Also we’ve shared the excitement of opening our Etsy shop without actually sharing a link, so I hope this one works. (If not just search thebestofthemess, no spaces no capitals)  I am very technically impaired and I’ve tried to add a badge to the sidebar but no success yet, if anyone knows how to help me with this…..

Andrea

